Louisiana Advisory Council on Student Behavior and Discipline

Friday, August 24, 2018 Claiborne State Office Building, Iowa Room 1-153 Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Official Minutes

The August 24, 2018 meeting of the Advisory Council on Student Behavior and Discipline was called to order at 10:05 a.m. by Mr. Shawn Fleming. Members present were: Ms. JoAnn Achord, Ms. Katie Barras, Ms. Christina Conforto, Dr. Alan coulter, Ms. Tamara Cupit, Ms. Gina Easterly, Ms. Tia Edwards, Mr. Shawn Fleming, Ms. Liz Gary, supt. Kevin George, Ms. Melanie Jacobs, Dr. Cassidy Juneau, Ms. Jill Lockhart, Ms. Arielle McConduit, Mr. Michael Ortego, Ms. Laci Polotzola, Mr. Brad Prudhomme, Ms. Caroline Roemer, Ms. Cyndy Rutherford, Ms. Zoe Savitsky, Judge Kim Stansbury, Ms. Ariel Test, and Ms. Gina Womack.

Ms. Brenda Cosse', Mr. Raymond Jetson, Mr. Al Simmons and Ms. Debra Weinberg were absent.

1 A motion was made by Ms. Gary, and seconded by Ms. Rutherford, to approve the minutes from the April 13, 2018 meeting. The motion was approved without objection.

2 Ms. Barras made a motion for the Data Quality Review Committee meet on the same day as council meetings, similar to the council's other workgroups. The motion was seconded by Ms. Roemer.

3 Ms. Achord made a substitute motion to have the Data Quality Review Committee meet prior to council meetings from 8AM to 10 AM. The motion was seconded by Mr. Garrett and was approved without objection.

The chair noted that the Data Quality Review Committee consists of Ms. Barras, Mr. Prudhomme, Mr. Ortego, Mr. Fleming, Ms. Womack, Dr. Coulter and Mr. Schlicher.

Mr. Fleming reviewed the workgroup survey information and appointed members to one of three workgroups. Proactive Positive Approaches workgroup members include Ms. Achord, Ms. Barras, Ms. Conforto, Ms. Easterly, Mr. Fleming, Ms. Gary, Ms. Jacobs, Ms. McConduit, and Ms. Rutherford. Dealing with Challenging Behavior workgroup members include Ms. Cupit, Ms. Edwards, Supt. George, Dr. Juneau, Mr. Ortego, Mr. Prudhomme, Ms. Savitsky, and Ms. Womack. Safe Schools and Climate

workgroup members include Dr. Coulter, Mr. Garrett, Ms. Lockhart, Ms. Polotzola, Ms. Roemer, Mr. Schlicher, Judge Stansbury, and Ms. Test. The members of the workgroups then reported to separate meeting rooms to begin discussing their assigned topics.

Mr. Fleming reviewed his legislative workgroup meeting notes and conveyed his recommendations to the council. He noted that he met twice with legislative education committee staff, and these meetings informed his recommendations for changes to the legislative workgroup's proposal from its July 13, 2018 meeting.

4 Ms. Roemer moved that Mr. Fleming's recommendations, based on his meetings with legislative staff, be presented to the September 7, 2018 legislative workgroup meeting for members to further review and make recommendations to the full council at the next meeting. The motion was seconded by Judge Stansbury. A roll call vote was requested by Mr. Prudhomme.

Council members voting in favor of the motion: Ms. Barras, Ms. Conforto, Dr. Coulter, Ms. Cupit, Ms. Easterly, Mr. Garrett, Supt. George, Ms. Jacobs, Dr. Juneau, Ms. Lockhart, Ms. McConduit, Mr. Ortego, Ms. Polotzola, Mr. Prudhomme, Ms. Roemer, Ms. Rutherford, Ms. Savitsky, Ms. Schlicher, Judge Stansbury, Ms. Test.

Council members voting in opposition to the motion: Mr. Fleming, Ms. Womack.

By a vote of twenty yeas to two nays, the motion passed.

The full council convened at approximately 12:30 PM and the workgroups reported on their discussions from the morning break-out sessions. Workgroup presenters were Mr. Fleming, who was named chair of the Proactive, Positive Approaches Workgroup; Dr. Juneau, who was named chair of the Dealing with Challenging Behavior Workgroup; and Mr. Garrett, who was named chair of the Safe Schools and Climate Workgroup.

Mr. Fleming reminded members of future meeting dates and summarized reports on discipline disparities.

5 On motion by Mr. Garrett, and seconded by Ms. Rutherford, the meeting adjourned at 2:27 pm.